Foundation announces winners of 2013 scholarship awards

August 6, 2013

Matt Bovenzi, Galina Winner PictureOptometry Cares®- the AOA Foundation selected Matthew Bovenzi from the State University of New York State College of Optometry as the recipient of the $2,500 Dr. Seymour Galina Grant.

This scholarship fund, one of the earliest endowed gifts to Optometry Cares, was established through a bequest from the late Seymour Galina, O.D., a long-time member of the AOA.

Optometry Cares® invested the original gift and now uses the earnings to fund the $2,500 Dr. Seymour Galina Scholarship Grant in perpetuity.



InfantSEE® scholarships

The foundation selected Jay Lytle from The Ohio State University College of Optometry as the national winner for the InfantSEE® Scholarship Grant.

Lytle will be awarded $5,000, and the runner-up, Cameron Horch from Pacific University School of Optometry, will receive $2,500.

The InfantSEE® Scholarship Grant was created by Vision West, Inc., a leading national ophthalmic product buying group, to promote InfantSEE®, a public health program of Optometry Cares® developed to provide no-cost professional eye care for infants nationwide.



For more information about the foundation, visit www.aoafoundation.org.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: