COVD honors awardees at annual meeting

December 23, 2012
Penelope Suter, O.D., at left, accepts the A.M. Skeffington Award from College of Optometrists in Vision Development President David Damari, O.D.

Penelope Suter, O.D., at left, accepts the A.M. Skeffington Award from College of Optometrists in Vision Development President David Damari, O.D.

Five individuals and one organization received awards for their contributions to developmental optometry during the Awards Luncheon held at the 42nd Annual Meeting of the College of Optometrists in Vision Development (COVD), in October in Ft. Worth, Texas. Receiving recognition were Penelope Suter, O.D., Irwin Suchoff, O.D., DOS, Marie Bodack, O.D., and Janna Iyer, O.D.,; Mountain States Congress of Optometry; and Paula Peachey, Certified Optometric Vision Therapist International.

The 2012 A.M. Skeffington Award for outstanding contributions to the optometric literature in the areas of behavioral vision care and vision therapy was given to Dr. Suter.

Dr. Suter is an optometrist in Bakersfield, Calif. She co-edited the book “Vision Rehabilitation: Multidisciplinary Care of the Patient Following Brain Injury” with Lisa Harvey, drawing on countless studies on the treatment of brain injury.

Dr. Suchoff, of Kennesaw, Ga., received the 2012 G.N. Getman Award in recognition of his contributions to optometry and optometric education, including decades on the faculty and administration at State University of New York State College of Optometry.

The President’s Award was presented to Dr. Bodack for her tireless efforts to involve optometry students in COVD, mostly through her work as chair of the Academic Services Committee. Dr. Bodack practices in Cincinnati, Ohio.
The Distinguished Service Award was presented to Mountain States Congress of Optometry for its continued support of the Tour de Optometry Program. They have donated more than $81,000. Their support helps make it possible for COVD to visit every optometry school in the United States and Canada.

The Optometry & Vision Development Award for best published article during 2011 was given to First Author Dr. Janna Iyer, for the article titled “The Vision Print System: A New Tool in the Diagnosis of Ocular Motor Dysfunction.” Co-authors were Mark Taub, O.D., and W.C. Maples, O.D. Dr. Iyer was a resident at Southern College of Optometry when she and her coworkers conducted this study.

The 2012 Certified Optometric Vision Therapist of the Year Award was given to Paula Peachey for her outstanding dedication to behavioral optometry and patient care. Peachey is an International Certified Optometric Vision Therapist (COVT-I), from Wodonga, Victoria, Australia. She has been working as a vision therapist since 2000 and is the only COVT-I in Australia.

These awards are given annually at the COVD Annual Meeting Awards Luncheon. Nominations for the awards are reviewed by selection committees consisting of past award recipients and members of the Board of Directors and Journal Review Board.

In addition, five travel scholarships and 41 travel grants were presented to optometry students and residents to help defer expenses for their attendance at the COVD meeting. COVD received a $7,000 grant from The Vision Care Institute, LLC and donations from COVD members to help fund these grants and scholarships.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: