AOA elects officers, trustees; Hopping new president

June 30, 2012

Past AOA President Richard Hopping, O.D., at right, prepares to induct the new officers and trustees of the AOA, including his son, Ronald L. Hopping, O.D., MPH (at left). Other officers and trustees, from left are Immediate Past President Dori M. Carlson, O.D., President-elect Mitchell T. Munson, O.D.; Vice President David A. Cockrell, O.D.; Secretary-treasurer Steven A. Loomis, O.D.; Trustees Andrea Thau, O.D., Christopher Quinn, O.D., Sam Pierce, O.D., Hilary Hawthorne, O.D., Barb Horn, O.D., and William Reynolds, O.D.

Ronald L. Hopping, O.D., MPH, following the footsteps of his father, has taken the office of president of the American Optometric Association (AOA). Dr. Hopping, of Houston, Texas, was first elected to the board in 2005 and will serve as president for the 2012-2013 program year. Dr. Hopping’s father, Richard Hopping, O.D., served as president of the AOA from 1971-1972. This marks the first time in the association’s history that a father and son have both held the top office.

Mitchell T. Munson, O.D., has been elected president-elect. Dr. Munson, of Highlands Ranch, Colo., was first appointed to the AOA Board of Trustees in 2006.  He previously served as vice president and liaison trustee to the Third Party Center Executive Committee.

David A. Cockrell, O.D., has been elected vice president of the AOA.  Dr. Cockrell, of Stillwater, Okla., most recently served on the Legislative Action Response Committee and is the liaison trustee to the Affiliate Relations and Membership Group, Faculty Relations, Membership Development and Student and New Graduate committees.

Steven A. Loomis, O.D., of Roxborough Park, Colo., has been elected AOA secretary-treasurer. He most recently served as a trustee and is a past chair of the AOA State Government Relations Center (SGRC), Oversight Board, AOA Health Care Legislative Committee (HCLC) and the Resolutions and the Legal Defense Fund Oversight committees.

Hilary L. Hawthorne, O.D., has been re-elected to the AOA Board of Trustees.  Dr. Hawthorne, of Los Angeles, Calif., was officially appointed to the AOA volunteer structure in 2006. She has been active in committees including the AOA Communications Advisory Group and served as chair of the Credentials Committee and the Hispanic Communications Project Team from 2008-2009.

Christopher Quinn, O.D., has been re-elected to the AOA Board of Trustees.  Dr. Quinn, of Iselin, NJ, currently serves as the liaison trustee to the Advocacy Group Executive Committee, the Community Health Center Committee, the Federal Legislative Action Keyperson Committee, the Federal Relations Committee, the Legislative Action Response Committee, and the Professional Relations Committee.

William T. Reynolds, O.D., has been elected to the AOA Board. Dr. Reynolds, of Richmond, Ky., has a long history of service to optometry on the state, regional and national levels. His dedication to the profession resulted in him twice being awarded the Kentucky Optometric Association (KOA) OD of the Year, in 1998 and 2011. He was also a three-time winner of the KOA President’s Award and was instrumental in passing the Children’s School Entrance Eye Exam Law in 2000 and the Better Access to Quality Eye Care bill in 2011.

Dori M. Carlson, O.D., of Park River, N.D., will assume the AOA office of immediate past-president. Dr. Carlson was the first woman to serve as AOA president and was first elected to the board in June 2004.  During her tenure on the AOA Board, Dr. Carlson served as liaison to many different committees and project teams. Most notably she was instrumental in developing the School Readiness Summit: Focus on Vision, which evolved in to a Joint Statement signed by 30 different organizations calling for a comprehensive eye exam to be the foundation of children’s vision care. This statement was used in the AOA’s lobbying efforts to define the Essential Pediatric Vision Benefit in Health Care Reform as an eye exam instead of a simple screening.

The other trustees of the AOA are Andrea Thau, O.D., Barb Horn, O.D., and Sam Pierce, O.D.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: