New ICD-9 glaucoma codes taking effect

December 19, 2011

As of Oct. 1, 2011, Medicare requires use of a series of new ICD-9 codes to report glaucoma and the stages of glaucoma on Medicare claims, according to the AOA Clinical and Practice Advancement Group (AOA-CPAG).

Other insurance plans will begin requiring use of the new glaucoma codes on Jan. 1, 2012. Although the U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) officially mandated the use of the new ICD-9 glaucoma codes on Medicare claims effective Oct. 1, 2011, agency officials will probably allow a brief grace period for claims inadvertently filed with the old glaucoma coding, according to AOA-CPAG.

However, optometrists should begin using the new codes on all Medicare, Medicaid, and private sector claims, as quickly as possible, AOA-CPAG emphasized.

For more information, visit http://newsfromaoa.org/2011/10/23/2012-icd-9-will-include-new-codes-for-reporting-glaucoma/.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: